Are you a text addict?

How many txts do u send?

I

t always amazes me to see my daughter typing her text messages. She can type faster than I type on my computer (and I am a pretty fast typist).
Now she doesn’t type as fast as James Trusler, the speed texter who beat the world record. On BBC News, “How text messages changed my life” recounts James Trusler’s experience.
“He had to type: The razor-toothed piranhas of the genera Serrasalmus and Pygocentrus are the most ferocious freshwater fish in the world. In reality they seldom attack a human.” James Trusler typed the message in just 67 seconds.
I am not a fast text typist (it seems that I could improve my abilities by taking classes for over 50 in Glasgow), but I am convinced that text messaging is often the fastest and cheapest way to send a message -even though they say that it doesn’t cost much to the phone companies and they’re making heaps of money out of our text messages.
It also used to be the safest way of sending a message, but it seems that a lot of texts go missing, as BBC correspondent Mark Ward reports in Mystery of missing text messages.
And apparently someone with time to waste and a nasty mind has created the first mobile phone virus. Nothing is perfect…

