My aunt Fanny, 15 and her brother Victor.

divingintothepast.jpg

My aunt Fanny at school
Fanny at school

The back of the photo says Souvenir de la IV classe 1927-1928, Varna .
Fanny is the eager-looking girl with the pink collar.

My father’s family were born French in Bulgaria and as French children, they were entitled to go to the French Catholic school in Varna . My aunt Fanny always talked fondly of the Sisters and would have loved going on with her schooling. Unfortunately, her mother could not afford to keep her in school, (my grandfather not being much of a provider).
My father had to leave school at twelve and go to work to help his mother. Their younger brother, Victor, the only of the three still alive and well, with a very good memory, was the only child who got a degree.
To know more about the bilingual school system in Bulgaria, you’ll have to read French

victorlycee1.jpg

The names read Moggov Kosta , Kovalev Georgi , Samatumov M., Kovo (for Covo) Victor

My uncle Victor, also started his school at the Catholic school, but later on, as his son Léo writes,

got a Bulgarian diploma when he graduated summa cum laude from the local Commercial High School of Burgas.
His year was an exceptional one apparently as four students were not required to take the final examinations from having scored a straight 1 (= A) all along their secondary studies. They even got an article in the local press including their photos showing them in their school uniforms with their school caps on

.

5 thoughts on “My aunt Fanny, 15 and her brother Victor.

  1. Hi dear Cousin!

    From what I know from my father (Fanny’s little brother) the Bulgarian school system was organized after the German one, which means that IV Classe (Fourth class) would probably be equivalent to “la 3ème” in the French system, and to “9th grade” in the American one.

    As to my father, Victor, he indeed got a Bulgarian diploma when he graduated summa cum laude from the local Commercial High School of Burgas.

    His year was an exceptional one apparently as four students were not required to take the final examinations from having scored a straight 1 (= A) all along their secondary studies. They even got an article in the local press including their photos showing them in their school uniforms with their school caps on.

    The names read Kosta Moggov, Georgi Kovalev, M. Samatumov, Victor Kovo (for Covo)

    Lol,

    leo

  2. I’m enjoying your photos. Inspiring. I found myself pausing in the photo album from my grandmother but most are faded with age. Families are interesting to all of us.

  3. Pingback: What Mémé taught me « Blogging in Paris

Leave a Reply

