Word surfing

Zeitgeist, a word that puzzled me when I read references to Google Zeitgeist. As I do not speak German, I had to look it up.
On the Google site, the definition is

zeit·geist | Pronunciation: ‘tsIt-“gIst, ‘zIt | Function: noun | Etymology: German, from Zeit (time) + Geist (spirit) | Date: 1884 | Meaning: the general intellectual, moral, and cultural climate of an era Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate® Dictionary.

Developing Teachers.com sends a newsletter called Weekly Teaching Tip. This week’s tip mentions the Macmillan English Dictionary – Most Popular New Words of 2004
The list is ‘based on the number of page views in 2004 of archived articles published in 2004’.
Some words I like
metrosexual, a heterosexual male with a strong interest in fashion, appearance and other lifestyle characteristics traditionally associated with women
paraskevidekatriaphobia the irrational fear of Friday the 13th, definitely my favorite -I wonder if I’ll ever be able to remember it…
bluejacking the practice of sending anonymous text messages to another person??s mobile phone by using the Bluetooth? networking system
I was also puzzled by movieokea form of entertainment in which a person acts out scenes from a film by reading lines from a monitor whilst the film scenes are playing silently in the background
Through NakedTranslations, I found this dictionary of English slang and colloquialisms used in the United Kingdom, which is quite interesting. Have a look at it, it’s lots of fun, but I dare not quote anything, English not being my mother tongue! 😉

2 thoughts on “Word surfing

Leave a Reply

