New word (to me) – gurning

words.jpg

Gurning I learned this new (for me) word at Serendipity A look at World wide Words gave the following definition

This British term�??much better known in Britain and Commonwealth countries than in the US�??has at times been applied to the pulling of faces as a competitive activity.

There is a world gurning championship that takes place in Cumbria and is said to date back to 1267
And Google images provides quite a few examples 😉
More info at The Official Home of Egremont Crab Fair & Sports

One thought on “New word (to me) – gurning

  1. OK, this is my favorite website of all the ones I’ve seen at Blog Explosion. Looking forward for more. I like that you are interested in things that happened more than a week ago. Great pictures. And I like your new word gurning. I plan to use it in a sentence sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

