Three little girls with muffs.

divingintothepast.jpg

To listen to this post in French, click below

Little girls with hat and muff
circa 1914 – Slonim, Rosa (left), Gitta (right), and one of their cousins
My mother liked to tell us how proud her father was of his daughters. She said that his pride was somewhat ridiculous but I could feel that she was proud to have such a loving father. In those days, having daughters was not as appreciated as having sons, but she said that my grandfather’s favourite line was: you’ll see, when Rosa and Gitta are both married, there will be a line of young men coming and knocking at my window, shouting “Jeljan, you don’t happen to have another daughter for me to marry, do you?”
I can still hear my mother’s pleased giggle as she told the story.
One thought on “Three little girls with muffs.

Leave a Reply

