The Comedy of Errors

thisandthat.jpg

Eiffel Tower
Full moon over the Eiffel Tower
Tom Cunliffe’s post about the Duchess of Malfi reminded me of that evening when I went to see Shakespeare’s The Comedy of Errors at the Théâtre National de Chaillot. When we arrived, one of the comedians was in the theatre hall, chatting with people who apparently were his neighbours. He must have given them a free invitation.
The whole performance (in French) was incredibly poor. The comedians were either mumbling or screaming at the top of their lungs, sometimes both ;). I keep the memory of a lot of running around and shrieking. You couldn’t even follow the plot, as from time to time, a comedian would come to the front of the stage and talk about things that had nothing to do with the play.
At intermission, I felt like going but the friend I was with convinced me we should stay. The Théâtre National de Chaillot is on the Chaillot hill, just facing the Eiffel Tower and it was a full moon night AND I had my camera.
2 thoughts on “The Comedy of Errors

  1. Thanks for the link Claude. That really is a great photograph isn’t it. A unique combination of moon and tower! While I realise Shakespeare was a great writer I do not enjoy going to see his plays, preferring more modern material

Leave a Reply

