Book meme


Bookshelves at home

I was tagged by Trix at Whippoorwill and it took me forever to do it, because, as I said in a previous post, I am kept very busy by my flickrmania!

Isn’t Trix lucky that flickr is down this morning? 😉

Total # of Books I’ve Owned:
This is absolutely impossible to tell. I used to buy lots of books and when I decided to move into a new flat, six years ago, I had to get ride of quite a few. It would go by hundreds, no doubt. I was thinking the other day that I should really add a bookshelf on my living-room wall…

Last Book I Bought: I bought a French travel guide to Amsterdam Le guide du Routard for my trip to Amsterdam.
Last Book I Read: Ross Macdonald’s The Zebra-Striped Hearse. A good read, by the way. Much more interesting than The Da Vinci Code, that I never got around to finish.
Sorry to disappoint you, but I have become an almost exclusive reader of murder-mysteries and thrillers. When I was young, I read and read and read, all sorts of books but mainly classical books. Now it feels like I have read so many books, that all I want to read is easy stuff.
Five Books That Mean A Lot To Me:
When I was young,
Les Quatre Filles du Docteur March, which later I found to be titled Little Women, a book that I read again and again, when I was a teenager. I identified to Jo and was really surprised as a grown-up to discover that other girls had identified to another of the sisters.
I was really disappointed when my daughter told me she found it boring!
Ann Frank’s Diary. If you want to know how I felt about it when I read it, just read this post.
Les Trois Mousquetaires, The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas. Sheer adventure. Exciting, making you forget everything around you.
Later on, I loved Russian literature and devoured Dostoievsky’s novels, I particularly loved The Idiot and read Tolstoi’s War and Peace several times.
Primo Levi’s If This is a Man I cannot find words to express what this book did to me. I have read it many a time, always finding something new and meaningful.
Marcel Proust’s A la Recherche du Temps Perdu or in English, Search of Lost Time, and Stendhal’s La Chartreuse de Parme are still among my favourites. They are books that, in spite of my not reading anything serious these days, I can still get enthralled by. And on a desert island, with no Internet, I would probably take up reading A la Recherche from beginning to end. You could add Tolstoi’s War and Peace to that.

I don’t want to tag anyone, but whoever wants to go on with this meme may!!!
I think that someone else tagged me on a similar book thing, but this post will have to do! 😉

3 thoughts on “Book meme

  1. Interesting this book meme!
    BTW, the last 2 books I’ve been reading in French are “Un secret” (P. Grimbert) and “Sobibor” (J.Molla). Both deal with the everlasting pains of WW2, esp. for the Jews, but they also both deal with family ties. I’d recommend them, even though they’re not the funniest read you could find…

    But the reason why I’m posting is this: have you come across Matthew Mahon’s site? Truly incredibe, and definitely a must-see for anyone who’s interested in photography and computer technology.
    Check it out right here : http://www.matthewmahon.com/

  2. Hi Claude,
    I guess we have about 7000+ books at home right now. Don’t know how many trashy paperbacks I#ve thrown away. Currently reading Levitt & Dubner’s “Freakonomics”

    Stu

  3. I don’t come across too many people who are a fan of Primo Levi’s. I first came across him in my impressionable early twenties and I adore his writing to this day! Bravo, Claudecf!!

Leave a Reply

