I pass …

Clement Wood (1888–1950)

I   PASS a lighted window
And a closed door—
And I am not troubled
Any more.

Though the road is murky,
I am not afraid,
For a shadow passes
On the lighted shade.

Once I knew the sesame
To the closed door;
Now I shall not enter
Any more;

Nor will people passing
By the lit place,
See our shadows marry
In a gray embrace.

Strange a passing shadow
Has a long spell!
What can matter, knowing
She does well?

How can life annoy me
Any more?
Life: a lighted window
And a closed door.

I took this photo in April 2005, rue de Seine in the Latin Quarter in Paris and it is now part of a flickr group I created, All sorts of windows.
2 thoughts on “I pass …

  1. Lovely juxtaposition of image and sentiment, both of them simple and inviting.

    I check your blog frequently, enjoying the varied fare you offer to visitors.

    Merci, madame!

Leave a Reply

