Festival du Cinéma américain

For the first time, to me September 1st doesn’t mean going back to work. Last year excepted, (I was going back to six weeks of radiation therapy), September 1st has always meant Back to school.
But not this year. This year, I am attending Deauville’s Festival du Cinéma Américain, averaging 3 movies a day 😉
I suppose I could see five movies if I got up early enough! But I think it would drive me crazy.
The nice part about a festival is that you end up seeing movies that you probably wouldn’t normally see.
The lousiest movie I have seen so far is The Forty year old Virgin –obviously, I was one of the very few people who didn’t enjoy it. But I found most of it in very poor taste. I was not going to attend, but someone who had seen it in the morning convinced me that I should go.
I really enjoyed Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, which I found full of humour and movie references, both a film noir and a comedy.
I was stunned by The Protocols of Zion, a Marc Levin’s documentary which raises a lot of questions.
In the words of Rotten Tomatoes:

Levin’s filmmaking journey takes place against an increasingly volatile backdrop: U.S. troops march on Iraq, Arab television stations broadcast a dramatization of The Protocols of the Elders of Zion, Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir claims the Jews rule the world by proxy, Mel Gibson releases The Passion of the Christand violence reignites between the Palestinians and the Israelis.
Every bit as disturbing and unruly as the subject itself, Levin’s PROTOCOLS OF ZION drives straight to the heart of the hate that animates all religious fanaticism and zealotry

I took this photo on Deauville’s wooden promenade, Les Planches, where all the beach cabins have been painted with names of famous American actors and directors.

Leave a Reply

