Catching up!

Paris Wanderings
“Blogging in Paris”
Blogging in Paris

 
 

La Collection Phillips à Paris

Don’t miss this!

I meant to blog this last week but didn’t have time as I was getting ready for my London trip. So here I am catching up. I had been told that the Phillips Collection exhibition at the Musée du Sénat was really worth seeing and I happened to pass by the Luxembourg Garden last Tuesday morning. I couldn’t believe my eyes, there was no queue outside, all I had to do was go up the steps and buy a ticket! Which I did. This is so unexpected in Paris, especially on Tuesdays as most Paris museums are usually closed that day. If you live in Paris, or happen to be in Paris, don’t miss this. It has all those paintings that you have seen in books or prints, except they are there, in front of your eyes until March 26th. Renoir’s famousLe déjeuner des canotiers, among the familiar (to me) paintings, but also works that were complete discoveries (again to me) like Picasso’s Femme au Chapeau Vert, Ingres’s La Petite Baigneuse or Odilon Redon’s Le Mystère. I just loved Van Gogh’s L’Entrée du Jardin Public à Arles, so beautiful, mysterious, forbidden…

On a daily basis, I upload quite a lot of photos onto my flickr account, but I choose one a day, which I blog at my Photoblog: One Photo a Day

2 thoughts on “Catching up!

  1. Dear Claude,

    I’m one of those lucky readers who discovered your blog through
    the Monde article. I read ‘About My Life’ and several other items
    and admired the photo gallery. I think your project of walking
    around Paris and taking pix is a great idea, and since I am an
    inveterate Paris walker myself (I live near the Luxembourg Gardens)
    and have lots of time on my hands, I would love to accompany you.
    I, too, have had an interesting life (I’m a former journalist) and
    I’m sure we would have a great deal to say to one another. Are you
    interested?

    Allan

Leave a Reply

