Is an image always worth a thousand words?

thisandthat.jpg

 

I took a photo of this sign in Trafalgar Square and its meaning is pretty obvious. Especially in the context of a square full of pigeons.
But in the course of this trip to London, I came across signs which didn’t make sense to me at all.

What do you make of these?
 

Do not come here in your underwear? Puzzling sign

The first sign made me smile, as it was at the entrance of Harrod’s. I suppose that it means that people wearing minimal clothing won’t be admitted, but the first idea that comes to mind is that people in bathing suits are not welcome.
The second sign also at Harrod’s, just doesn’t make sense to me. It doesn’t forbid anything, but I can’t figure out what it allows. Carrying a case is allowed? Sounds silly.
The last sign is totally puzzling to me. All it made me think of, was Peter Pan fighting with his shadow 😉
Even though I did take the photo in Kensington Gardens, I don’t think that it was what the people in charge of the gardens had in mind.
When I posted the photo on flickr, people who commented didn’t have a clue either. It seems that to an Englishman, it means that the ground may get slippery and it’s a caution sign.
So an image can sometimes be more puzzling than a thousand words.

6 thoughts on “Is an image always worth a thousand words?

  1. Hi Claude!
    What a fun way tto start my day. Your warm and sincere encouragement means so much. Re the cryptic signs I speculate that 2 is carrying a cooler. This probably means that if you want a cold beer or way to transport toxic waste you’ll have to bring your own refrigeration. Makes sense to me.
    I won’t miss a day of your wonderful blog!
    Lucy

  2. Hmmmmmm….the case is being held by handle with the strap clearing hanging down. Maybe you are supposed to carry your bag v.s.have it on your shoulder in that particular area of the store. Perhaps to protect the merchandise which could be expensive and breakable like crystal? Shoulder bags can sometimes touch things in tight places. Just a guess.

    I think the last one is about icy or slippery surface warnings, perhaps where water has a tendency to be or where flooding can occur or near a bridge where cold air passes under and icing can occur.

    Will be back…interesting blogging and great photography! Glad to find you.

  3. I have seen a sign similar to the second one on a publicly placed defillibrator, with usage instructions in case someone has a heart attack.

Leave a Reply

