Walk the Line

This and That
“Blogging in Paris”
Blogging in Paris

 

Saw Walk the Line and really liked it. I wonder though if people who are not familiar with Johnny Cash will like this movie. It recounts Johnny Cash’s early years, from his childhood and the time when his brother died through the years when he started singing and went on tours with all sorts of famous singers of the time. Then about the time when he started taking drugs; the movie stops at the time when he quit drugs, thanks to (?) his romance with June Carter.
I found Joaquin Phoenix as Johnny Cash quite credible and really enjoyed the music.
Surprisingly (to me) Walk the Line has an entry in Wikipedia!
 

I keep a close watch on this heart of mine
I keep my eyes wide open all the time
I keep the ends out for the tie that binds
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

I find it very, very easy to be true
I find myself alone when each day is through
Yes, I’ll admit that I’m a fool for you
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

As sure as night is dark and day is light
I keep you on my mind both day and night
And happiness I’ve known proves that it’s right
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

You’ve got a way to keep me on your side
You give me cause for love that I can’t hide
For you I know I’d even try to turn the tide
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

I keep a close watch on this heart of mine
I keep my eyes wide open all the time
I keep the ends out for the tie that binds
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

On a daily basis, I upload quite a lot of photos onto my flickr account, but I choose one a day, which I blog at my Photoblog: One Photo a Day

9 thoughts on “Walk the Line

  1. Read the article in Le Monde, as part of my French homework. Thought: “Great – good practice for my French – mais HELAS – the site, though lovely, appears to be TOUT EN ANGLAIS. POURQUOI????

    Bonne chance en tout cas – impressionant 🙂

  2. So sorry, Steph! English has been my choice since the beginning. Pourquoi? Well, perhaps as a sort of mask? Or is it because I love the language?
    Anyway, if you want to, you can listen to the loose translations I give for my Diving int he past section. Sorry you are so disappointed 😉
    There are lots of other blogs in French, though…
    Good luck

  3. Claude, François saw the film on the plane back from Washington, jhe ‘s one
    of Jonnhy Cash’s mots enthusiastic fans, he was listening to his songs when eveyrbody (high brow) thought it was corny music…And he told me that the film is nul!!!!
    I saw Brokeback mountanin last night and thought it was a great film…Not really sad since after all the two guys love each other until the end and the saddest thing is when you stop
    loving someone…Apart from these mawkish considerations the filming (actors, play
    acting, ) is great. CU MFCG

  4. Je suis arrivé sur votre blog par l’intermédiaire du journal Le Monde.
    Je viens d’avoir l’agréable surprise de lire un lyric de J. Cash, alors que presque dans un même temps – le 24 février – j’écrivais un petit commentaire sur la sortie de l’album de sa fille Rosanne : “Black Cadillac”.
    Rosanne raconte la vie des Cash sur une vidéo publiée sur son site qui, j’en suis certain, vous intéressera.
    En tout cas, bravo pour votre blog et je regrette de ne pas pouvoir rédiger en Anglais aussi aisément que vous. You will surely get an bookmark 🙂

  5. Hi claude, I had heard of Johnny Cash (of course) but the only song I knew was “Ring of Fire. I liked the movie, but but not a lot. It was a kinda boring, I found it focused too much on the process of Him and june getting to know each other and falling in love and finally ending up together. I think my viewing of it was spoiled by an excellent BBC documentary which was much broader, told us more about his struggle with drugs and about how he made a comeback in the early nineties.

    I liked the performances though. Both Joaquin and Reese were fab!
    🙂

  6. dear Claude,

    re : a photo a day

    Your photos are wonderful and they come off very well on the screen.
    what type of digital camera do you use ? I know that a good camera does not
    make a good photographer but lenses are important.
    thanking you in advance for your advice
    merry mary

  7. merry mary, a good camera sure helps take acceptable photos! I now use a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ5. I like it a lot because it’s very light, something important when you get older. 😉
    Thanks for visiting.

  8. thanks Claude for your prompt reply. I did check on http://www.dpreview.com for Panasonic
    Lumix DMC-FZ5. Comments are excellent,however there is a new model which has just
    arrived on the market, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ7 with slight changes (6 megapixels)
    and a wider screen (2,5 inch)which might be more convenient, don’t you think ?
    Agree that light weight is a must.
    I stop bothering you with my technical problems and wish you an happy photo day,
    snow and all
    Merry Mary

Leave a Reply

