Then and now: travelling

divingintothepast.jpg
 
To listen to this post in French, click below

 

Cuzco, Peru
In Cuzco, Peru, with my husband

 

T here are very few photos of Roland, my husband and myself together. This was taken by a street photographer and it’s a pretty awful shot. But it’s a good memory. That year, we travelled through Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador and Colombia. Quite a long trip, like the ones we took every summer.
I loved those long yearly trips away from home, everything so different, people, language, landscape, food, means of transport… It felt like being in another world and changing personality in a way.
In those days, we would decide which part of the world we would travel to, and then I would let Roland plan the trip for us.
I’ve always been hopeless at reading maps, must admit I have no sense of direction whatsoever, and don’t like too much planning ahead when travelling. So I didn’t mind being a follower 🙂
When our daughter was born, those yearly trips stopped, but we didn’t miss them. Life was simply different.

When Roland died, I felt that I didn’t really want to go for long trips any more. That part of my life was over. Last year, though, for the first time, I went on a trip alone … and enjoyed it. In a totally different way, though. I like going on my own, do minimal planning and let things happen on the spur of the moment. I enjoy a three or four day trip, taking lots of photos, keeping no regular hours, and going where my fancy will take me.
Next week, I’ll be travelling to Florence. I have made a reservation for the Uffizzi, because I know that otherwise, I’ll have to queue for two or three hours. But other than that, I’ll do whatever happens to suit me when I’m there.
Short trips on my own, a different way of travelling, better suited to my age.

On a daily basis, I upload quite a lot of photos onto my flickr account, but I choose one a day, which I blog at my Photoblog: Claude’s Daily Snap
If you live in Paris or happen to be in Paris, before May 27th, don’t miss the exhibition of Willy Ronis‘s photos at HĂ´tel de Ville. No need to speak French to see these wonderful photos.
Pay a visit to Lucy who just turned 84! Happy birthday, Lucy!

3 thoughts on “Then and now: travelling

  1. What a wonderful picture of you and Roland. I’ve never really travelled much since I had my family young and pretty quickly…all four of them. It definitely changes the way you operate, doesn’t it? But, it was the best of times for me…even if I was exhausted at the end of my day….it was a healthy exhaustion. Thanks for sharing this pic. of you and Roland, Claude.

  2. Hi Claude, I’m a reader of your website but I’ve only commented one or two times.

    I’m going to Europe on Friday, a trip that was supposed to be my honeymoon but my husband died in December, less than three months after we were married. Part of me dreads the trip a little bit because of all the feelings that will surely surface (the primary reason for the trip is to attend a memorial in Germany). We didn’t have a long history of marriage, but travelling together is one of our greatest joys that I will never be able to experience again. I feel a profound sadness that will no doubt accompany me on every trip I’ll ever take without him.

    I’ve been thinking of starting a travel ritual that incorporates photography so he can travel with me in the virtual sense. The idea is still a work in progress, but why I’m writing is because your post struck a chord with me, the sense that travel has taken on a new feeling without your spouse. That it can be enjoyable, but in a different way. Maybe it’s too soon for me, but I’m hopeful.

  3. Pingback: Willy Ronis, ageing and me « Blogging in Paris

Leave a Reply

