Art Buchwald

This and That
“Blogging in Paris”
Blogging in Paris

 

If you’re hung up
on nostalgia
pretend today is yesterday
and just go out
and have
one hell of a time
– Art Buchwald
Art Buchwald

 

I read about the way Art Buchwald, one of my favourite columnists, refused to go on with his kidney dialysis treatment, thus hastening his death. I have nothing to say, except I admire him.

Art Buchwald’s full quote is: We seem to be going through a period of nostalgia, and everyone seems to think yesterday was better than today. I don’t think it was, and I would advise you not to wait ten years before admitting today was great. If you’re hung up on nostalgia, pretend today is yesterday and just go out and have one hell of a time.
A selection of Art Buchwald’s columns in The Washington Post
The Final Days of Art Buchwald: A Visit By Suzette Martinez Standring
One of my favourite columns, one I discovered some 32 years ago when I spent my first Thanksgiving in the US, Le jour de Merci Donnant

5 thoughts on “Art Buchwald

  1. Claude,
    What a bang-up job on today’s post! Art Buchwald has always been a favorite and your post reminds me why. You’re an artist, that’s for sure!
    Thanks from a fan.

  2. Hello Claude:

    One of the reasons I enjoy visiting your website/blog because it so often opens up windows that I am not expecting…

    Art Buchwald…brings back memories because he was a favourite writer of my father’s. I remember picking up paperback collections of his columns that my dad would be reading and I remember the quiet enjoyment and entertainment of his words…

    This goes back many years, as my father died in 1973, when I was 17. Thanks for taking me back…

    Ken

  3. Hi Claude

    Thanks so much for making a post about Art Bauchwald. I too loved reading his columns.

    I followed through and read Suzette Martinez’s tribute to Art, it brought tears to my eyes.

    I thought about Milt as I was reading what Art had to say about his life at this point in time.

    I aways learn something when I read your post.

    As Art said, “Keep on writing.”

Leave a Reply

