Blogging from Florence (2)

travelog.jpg
 


Which flavour will it be?

 

Went to bed feeling completely exhausted, yesterday. Must have been the train trip. I woke up feeling refreshed this morning, even more so, since it wasn’t raining.
Instead of leaving the hotel through the main entrance, I got out through the service door and saw a statue at the top of a column I hadn’t spotted before. I walked there and found that I was on the bank of the river Arno. Not knowing what to do with a map, I hadn’t realised I was that close. I crossed the bridge to the other side and decided I’d get back as soon as I had a chance.
I had decided to go to the Galleria dell’Accademia this morning. On the way there, I was tempted to enter Orsanmichele church and was delighted I did as it is quite stunning. Hope my photos will come out right.
When I got to the Galleria dell’Accademia, there there was a line worth at least two hours’ waiting. So I changed my mind. Instead, I went to the Museo dell’Opificio delle Petre Dure, where they show wonderful pieces of decorative art made with semi precious stones, and also parts of the workshops and tools they used. Quite fascinating and unusual. Unfortunately, photos forbidden there.
After that, I was ready for lunch. Had great pasta al pesto and a very tasty salad with a glass of wine. It was a delicious and welcome rest!
I then visited Il Museo dell’Opera del Duomo, where you get a chance to see all the wonderful statues, frescoes and details of the Duomo. When I came out, I noticed that there was almost no queueing outside the Battistero, so I stopped by and soon got in. Here again, hope my photos will come out right!
I felt my legs could carry me a little longer 😉 so crossed the Ponte Vecchio, and walked to Palazzo Pitti and walked through the beautifully ornate Galleria Palatina and filled my eyes with paintings by Raffaello Sanzo, Filippo Lippi and the likes. By then, I was exhausted and went back to my hotel to have a cup of tea and put my feet up.
What a wonderful difference it makes, when the temperature is clement and you don’t have to carry your umbrella all the time!

Chiesa Orsanmichele photos here and slideshow here,
Battistero, Duomo and Museo dell’Opera del Duomo photos here and slideshow here

One thought on “Blogging from Florence (2)

  1. You make your vacation sound so inviting, makes one wish….Ah well…

    You did a wonderful post for TGB, so touching. I’m kind of a callus old coot, it had to be good to get to me.

Leave a Reply

