Blogging in Florence (4)

Phew!!!! Am I tired! Today being my last day, I had to vacate my room by 11a.m. In fact, I was out by 10 o’clock, bought a couple of presents for my daughter and started my last day’s roam in Florence. I headed towards Basilica San Lorenzo, but couldn’t get in as there was a wedding inside. But there was this great San Lorenzo market, animated and colourful, scarves, t’shirts, leather stuff, toys, you name it… As Basilica Santa Maria Novella was also on my agenda, I went there. Quite a beautiful church, with stunning frescoes on the walls and a crucifix painted by Giotto in the middle. No photos allowed.
I thought that Paris was pretty ludicrous when it came to forbidding things at the entrance of monuments, but that’s because I had forgotten about Italy 😉 AND they charge you for every single bit you visit. It would be interesting to add up how much I spent on churches and museums in four days.
Next I went back to Basilica San Lorenzo, and this time was able to get in. Again, no photos. An impressive building, but somewhat lacking emotion for my taste. When I got out, I came across the Cappelle Medicee, the Medici chapels, again no photos. The chapels are being repaired, but you can see how magnificent they are and the Michelangelo statues are simply wonderful. I hadn’t put those on my list because I thought I wouldn’t have time, but was delighted to see them.
Then I was ready for lunch, pasta with eggplant sauce, salad and a glass of wine, and went in the direction of Santa Croce Basilica. For some reason, I thought it was on the bank of the Arno, but it’s not, so it took me quite a while to find it. Again, my map reading… 😦 But the nice side of that is I got to walk past Florence Library, a beautiful building.
I finally got to Santa Croce Basilica, and loved it. It’s a bit like Paris Pantheon, with tombs of famous Florentines and Italians. There’s Rossini, Dante, Machiavelli, Michelangelo and Galileo, among others. There’s a statue which is said to have inspired Bartholdi for the statue of Liberty, works by Giotto, Della Robia, beautiful cloisters, a chapel designed by Brunelleschi and probably lots of things I am forgetting, but will remember when I see my photos, and yes! in Santa Croce, photos are allowed as long as you don’t use your flash.
Got back to my hotel, really tired as I have been walking most of the day, except for an hour or so at lunch. But I’ll have plenty of time to sleep on the train (a 12 hour ride)
2 thoughts on “Blogging in Florence (4)

  1. Claude,
    Just a note before I go to bed. (Not to sleep, you understand.)
    I’ve enjoyed every day in Florence. Thanks for a wonderful trip! You comment to Milt today was wonderful—I’m keeping it in mind for myself. I look forward to more time in Paris.
    Love,
    lucyd

Leave a Reply

