Garden


 

Springtime

Frances Hodgson Burnett (1849-1924)
 
And over walls and earth and trees and swinging sprays and tendrils, the fair green veil of tender little leaves had crept, and in the grass under the trees and the gray urns in the alcoves and here and there everywhere were touches or splashes of gold and purple and white and the trees were showing pink and snow above his head and there were fluttering of wings and faint sweet pipes and humming and scents and scents.(…)

Just finished reading The Secret Garden by F. H. Burnett and loved it. I had read and loved A Little Princess by the same author when I was a little girl and was totally fascinated. You cannot imagine how much I cried over the story of Sarah Crewe. Of course, I read it in French then. I was offered it for one of my birthdays.
How could I have missed The Secret Garden when I was young is beyond me. I used to borrow books from the library and when I found one I liked, I would go through all the books by the same author. The Secret Garden must have been out when I looked up other books by Frances Burnett.

  1. I took this photo in June at Parc Monceau in Paris.
  2. On a daily basis, I upload quite a lot of photos onto my flickr account, but I choose one a day, which I blog at Photo-Blogging in Paris
6 thoughts on “Garden

  1. Indeed, you did miss out on a treasure but now you have righted that wrong. I have to say that I never read the book but did see the 1949 version of the movie. The latest movie version of “The Secret Garden” released in 1993 can not hold a candle to the 1949 release of the movie which starred Margaret O’Brien (Mary Lennox), Herbert Marshall (Archibald Craven), Dean Stockwell (Colin Craven), Brian Roper (Dickon), and Gladys Cooper (Mrs. Medlock). That movie remains so vivid in my mind. It is still as though I watched it just yesterday. At ten or eleven years old it seemed so real.

    I am not sure if the 1949 version is available but if you want to see the movie – try to see that one. If I ever run across it somewhere I will let you know.

  2. Claude – This was one of my favorite books as a child. I loved the version illustrated by Tasha Tudor who is still a thriving artist in Vermont and has a website! To this day as I pass different gardens I am always fascinated by the ones behind high gates and covered in roses and vines. They make me imagine the secret garden inside and always remind me of the book. Actually your blog makes me want to take pics of some of my favorite garden gates but am easily discouraged looking at your fabulous fotos and your great blog! And “thanks” Alan for reminding me of both those movies – time to see them again.

  3. @Alan, thanks for the references to the 1949 movie.
    @Susan, you shouldn’t get discouraged. I take 20 times as many photos as I show on flickr 😉 That’s the nice part about digital cameras. You click away, look at the result and if you don’t like it, you just discard it.
    My edition of The Secret Garden WAS illustrated by Tasha Tudor and I loved it!

  4. I am Brian Roper’s daughter and it is wonderful to read that people are still enjoying his movies. He did spend his last days living in France, a country that he loved. Thank you for all of your wornderful thoughts.

  5. Hi,
    My husband and I just watched The Secret Garden. I was looking for a picture of him as an adult. He was so special in this movie and I was wondering what other movies he was in that I may have seen. Can you refer me to a web sight that shows his picture. Thank you so much.
    Naddie

Leave a Reply

