Brideshead Revisited

This and That
“Blogging in Paris”
Blogging in Paris

 


Castle Howard

Having for the first time used up 100% of my uploads for this month to flickr, and the weather being awful, I watched Brideshead Revisited, a 13-hours series shot in Castle Howard, Yorkshire, which I visited a few weeks ago. The series (now four DVDs) was completed in 1981, after Evelyn Waugh’s novel, Brideshead Revisited, starring Jeremy Irons, Anthony Andrews and Diana Quick, with special guest stars like Laurence Olivier, Claire Bloom and John Gielgud. I really enjoyed the series, the setting is magnificent, the music beautiful and the acting superb. I have never read the book though and am not sure I’d like to read it after seeing the series. Some series make me want to read some more, but I guess that 13 hours did the job 😉
I liked the atmosphere and found the characters really interesting and I particularly enjoyed revisiting Castle Howard and seeing some of the places we didn’t have time to visit. If you get a chance, you won’t regret seeing it. It kept me quite busy these last few days.

4 thoughts on “Brideshead Revisited

  1. You’ve convinced me, Claude, to put this series on a list I would want to see at some time, or to, at least, have the book at the ready on my night stand. The DVD is quite tempting, given all of the actors who I greatly admire that are in the series. As I have previously mentioned, Castle Howard appears magnificent as is your photo.

Leave a Reply

