Disordered Minds

This and That
“Blogging in Paris”
Blogging in Paris

 

Disordered Minds by Minette Walters

Don’t worry, not mine (I think), just the title of a murder mystery by Minette Walters that I’ve just finished. There’s just one thing that Minette Walters does and that I don’t like. Instead of flashbacks, she gives you newspaper clippings or email correspondence between the characters, or extracts of books. In the novel, they try to look like newspaper clippings etc, and somehow, it drives me crazy, because I feel like they take me OUT of the story. Maybe she does it to add reality to her story, but it doesn’t help me at all.
Still, I like Minette Walters’ plots, they are always interesting and get you really involved. Also, her characters are ordinary people, from all walks of life and I like that. Disordered Minds deals with people facing exclusion, either because of poverty or race, or parental abuse. Another good murder mystery with excellent psychological insight that I wholeheartedly recommend

4 thoughts on “Disordered Minds

  1. I haven’t read any of her books, but I think I will try them. I’m always looking for a new author to try. I have seen her books advertised, and don’t know why I haven’t read one. Thanks for the review.

  2. I can’t find anything that interests me lately – will have to try this one. I did pick up the Elizabeth George book you last reviewed but when I started it I realized I had seen that particular BBC episode of Inspector Lynley so the plot was ruined for me. On my way to the library today and will look for this one. Thanks Claude.

Leave a Reply

