Titien, le pouvoir en face, at Luxembourg Museum

pariswanderings.jpg
 

This afternoon, I went for a walk at Jardin du Luxembourg, one of my favourite places in Paris. Here is a slideshow of photos I took.

[blip.tv ?posts_id=291147&dest=-1]

Titien, le pouvoir en face

On my way out of Jardin du Luxembourg I passed by Musée du Luxembourg and noticed there was no one waiting in line for the Titian exhibition they are showing at the moment.
So I went in and it was really worth it. I found it very beautifully displayed on brown velvet, the lighting was good and it was particularly enjoyable as it wasn’t crowded. My favourite paintings were those of women like Laura Dianti or the portrait of this woman with a hat and children like Clarissa Strozzi although the theme was how Titian showed power and the powerful. There was a portrait of a man with his son, which I found particularly moving and unusual, with the boy looking up at his father, dressed as a soldier with an armour; I can’t remember the title of the portrait and no googling yielded the portrait in question. Well, Titian’s colours and textures are just incredibly beautiful, so if you want to know which it is, you’ll have to go and visit the Musée du Luxembourg 😉 –or else, I’ll have to go back!

  1. More photos taken at Jardin du Luxembourg today here (still uploading)
  1. I finally found the title of the portrait I was talking about above, in the list of the works exhibited. It’s Portrait de Guidobaldo II Francesco della Rovere et son fils Francesco Maria II, 1552-1553 huile sur toile, 200 x 115 Londres, coll. particulière. Again, I tried to Google it, but to no avail, probably because it belongs to a private collection.
  2. Our own Millie Garfield at MyMom’s Blog on CBS news!!! Got it on Steve Garfield’s Off on a Tangent

4 thoughts on “Titien, le pouvoir en face, at Luxembourg Museum

  1. Me again – the hipcast with slideshow is the way to go when you have a huge area like this you’re trying to cover. Obviously you couldn’t take one long video. Just dawned on me that this is another skill to learn!

  2. Susan, it’s really a very easy thing to learn on a Macintosh, as the software does it for you! Between iPhoto and iTunes, all you have to do is record your commentary and you’re done.
    Annie, thank you, but it’s another portrait in which Guidobaldo is standing with his son at his feet. I found the reference in the list of works (could have thought of that the first time) I would love to have a link to the portrait though. I didn’t see a print at the exhibition shop either.

  3. I nearly came across you then!because I was this afternoon at Le Luxembourg and I saw the dead leaves too, and sadly thought about their dry, dessicated aspect; these leaves are definitely leaves in an era of pollution, remember that a long time ago dead leaves first turned yellow, then red and finally not until December January did they turn brown. however you managed to take a beautiful photo making one forget about the general mess. And I went into the gallery too, actually because I was going to the exhibit. Like you I liked the lady with the feathered hat, and the portrait of a young man. Such depth in their expressions… But the gallery was crowded …

Leave a Reply

