Getting together and catching up

This and That
“Blogging in Paris”
Blogging in Paris

I took the train from Penn Station yesterday at four and was kindly picked up in Boston at 7:30.
Bob and Norma, true friends that they are, know that my favourite meal is turkey.

So here’s the star of the evening

turkey

The surgeon master is carving the bird
surgeonatwork

Getting the apple pie ready
Making apple-pie

My friend Norma, who I am proud to say once won a blue ribbon for her apple pie at the Bolton Fair, is at work, making one, which I must say was delicious. Dessert was just as scrumptious as the turkey dinner.

And how wonderful after all those years to get together again.

8 thoughts on “Getting together and catching up

  1. Wow. I don’t often see a turkey like that except at Thanksgiving and Christmas. What a treat that must have been.

    And you can’t get a more American dinner, I think, than turkey and apple pie – perfect for your trip to the U.S.

  2. How wonderful for you to be able to renew old friendships. And it sounds like they put out the red carpet for you.
    Lucky you…getting to eat prize winning apple pie!
    Keep having a great time. I’m enjoying traveling
    right along with you. And give my regards to
    Boston….my native soil.

  3. I couldn’t agree more, that turkey is clearly meant to be eaten with every bite savored…and the dressing, too. Sure do like the way the apples appear heaped up high in that pie tin. Can easily picture the baked result and taste it, too. Made me think of my Mom, who made the best apple pie I’ve ever eaten. I like a little dab of vanilla ice cream on my slice of warm apple pie sometimes.

    So glad you’re able to be with friends, as one of mine once told me, “There are no friends like old friends.” Of course, now, at this time of my life it takes on double meaning.

  4. Claude, not “Clause”! Typing the end of my comments to you sometimes pushes me “off the screen,” and all sorts of creative spellings erupt. Hope you are still enjoying Bean-town.

Leave a Reply

