Pintade flambée aux raisins

Journal
“This and That”
Blogging in Paris

 

As I’ve said before, I am not very fond of cooking. But there are a few things that Julie, my daughter loves eating.
This recipe is one that my mother used to do.
It’s really important to have a pot like the one I use, with a hollow lid where you put some water. It makes any fowl you cook in it just moist and delicious.
 

Ingredients

  1. a guinea-fowl barded with bacon slices. (Here in France, your butcher will do it for you)
  2. lots of crème fraîche
  3. extra slices of bacon
  4. raisins and/or in autumn, grapes
  5. brandy to flamber the fowl.

Cooking steps

  1. Add salt and pepper to the crème fraîche, and stuff the fowl with lots of the crème. You will add the rest of the crème into the pot.
  2. Put the fowl into the pot and brown it.
  3. Add half a cup of brandy and when it sizzles, light a match and flambé your fowl.
  4. Then put the lid on, and add water onto the lid. Cook for 20 minutes on one side, turn the fowl over and cook twenty more minutes on the other side.
  5. Add as many raisins as you like (my daughter loves raisins) and if you have bought fresh grapes, peel them and add them as well and cook for another twenty minutes.
  6. Cook some rice and serve.

Today, when I went to the market, I thought that poached pears would be a nice addition.
I looked for recipes, but all they had was with wine and I thought that wouldn’t do with the brandy. So I just peeled the pears, cut them in half and put them in a pan, half covered with water, added some cinnamon, some more raisins and cooked them softly for 20 minutes.

We enjoyed the meal and ended up as stuffed as the Guinea-fowl!
Watch the different stages of the recipe here

Click to listen to this post in French
[audio:pintade.mp3]

7 thoughts on “Pintade flambée aux raisins

  1. That dish looks so good, good enough to eat!!

    I noticed that you use dark raisinsf or the fowl and the pears. Have you ever used golden raisins for cooking or baking?

    I like dark raisins but golden raisins are even better. Have you ever used them?

    I saw your photo of “Bread” – sure looks good!! Would go good with that fowl dish. I’ll be right over!! 😉

  2. This looks so great that I wish I were more worldly and could decipher words such as “bard” the fowl; creme fraiche, and flamber (I can figure this one out) – much less know where to get guinea-fowl or even what kind of cognac to buy. The first and last time I tried to flambe something, I couldn’t set the liquid on fire, had to call my husband to help, and almost set him on fire.
    So we stick to pretty plain food; but this recipe looks perfect for the sort of short, gray Bronte-liked days we’re having. The pears are a great touch.

  3. I had to look up “barder” in a dictionary, but basically it means that you wrap your fowl with bacon slices.
    As for flamber, whatever alcohol you are using has to be burning hot or else, it won’t ‘catch fire’

  4. This bird/foul certainly looks delicious. Suppose from the size of the fowl it’s what we refer to as a “fryer” – a quite young chicken — or maybe we could use a Cornish hen.

    This recipe looks like it would be fun to fix. Thanks!

    The French words are looking familiar and my Eng./French dictionary answers any other questions.

  5. A French woman that doesn’t like to cook? I didn’t think that was possible! lol
    This looks very tasty and my mouth is watering just thinking about French food.

Leave a Reply

