Old year, new friends


 
Joy of Six at Resolving the New Year has posted a collection of thoughts on New Year’s Resolutions.
I think my favourite is

He who breaks a resolution is a weakling;
He who makes one is a fool.

~F.M. Knowles

whoever F. M. Knowles is. Honest, I looked him/her up on google and came up with lots of Knowleses, but no F. M.

Anyway, I hate New Year’s resolutions so this year again, I won’t be a fool and make any.

I prefer to look at the year past.

People that I want to remember
I want to have a thought for Meg at MandarinDesign who passed away in June. As her site is back online, we can still go and learn from her.
I haven’t heard from Milt at Milt’s Muse for a long time, but he too has taught me a few important things.


People from the blogosphere that I met with this past year, in chronological order:

Leo and Elly, my photographer friends for Norwich, England, that I met through flickr
Walt from WCS and Ken from Living the Life in Saint-Aignan. Can you believe that Walt Ken and I had never met, but heard about one another through common friend Bob, and that he had stayed at my flat while I was away?
Naomi, the activist and the knitter from A Little Red Hen
Ronni, who’s been my blogging inspiration since I started blogging, from Time Goes By
ML at Full Fathom Five, a dedicated and thoughtful language teacher
Millie, at My Mom’s Blog, who’s an example for me. When I grow up, I want to be just like her 🙂
Vlogger Steve Garfield and wife Susan, come on Claude, it’s Carol!, both so helpful and knowledgeable
Peggy, transplanted from Iowa to Scotland, and loving it, from Day to Day Life of a Lazy Gardener

I won’t go into a list of people I haven’t met in the flesh but that I consider friends. It would take too long and I wouldn’t want to forget anyone. But you know who you are. I stop by your blogs almost daily and read you.

So to all my new friends and of course, all my old friends and my family and relatives,

13 thoughts on “Old year, new friends

  1. Always like to watch the lights and glitter of the New Years celebrations around the world on the TV – especially Paris. I’ll watch for you and wave if I see you…

    Here is wishing you a very Happy New Year my friend! 🙂

  2. Psssssss! Did Steve (Millie’s son) acquire a new wife? I thought her name was Carol…but I could be wrong.
    At any rate…meeting blog friends is the best and I very much enjoyed the ones I met this past year also. AND…in 10 weeks, I’m very much looking forward to meeting YOU, Claude.
    Wishing you all the very best in the new and I look forward to all your future blog entries.

  3. Hey, you met a lot more of our blogging friends this past year than I thought. How great is that?

    Thanks so much dear Claude…and a very very Happy and Loving New Year…only wonderful things ahead.

  4. Happy, happy, Claude! Bob and I are going out to a party soon but I wanted to take a minute to wish you and Julie the best for the New Year! It was sooooo good to have you here in 2006 – I hope we can do a repeat in 2007. Thanks for sparking my re-interest in photography – and I am finally getting more into the digital world with it (a real Luddite, I!)

    Many hugs and kisses!
    Norma and Bob

  5. Oops, Claude. I’m the one, Ken, who was friends with Bob back in the 1970s. Walt has never met him. I remember well going to New England for Bob and Norma’s wedding in about 1977. But I don’t think I ever was at your apartment in Paris back then. Or maybe my memory of that has been wiped out by the years. Still, it was fantastic to meet you last April after a friend in California recommended your blog to me. It was only after I had looked at the blog for a month or more that I focused on your name and realized I “knew” you from the 1970s! Happy New Year!

  6. Wishing you a very happy 2007, Claude – and the foie gras was fantastic last evening. I cannot resist, however, telling the cat story that goes with it:

    This is very rich stuff, so I prepared just a few slices on a plate with some cornichon and part of that excellent baguette from the local bakery.

    As I think I mentioned, I never go out on New Year’s Eve. My ritual for decades is to stay home alone with a book I’ve wanted to read and to be asleep before midnight.

    I had a fun book to finish this year – Lisey’s Story. I arranged the comfortable chair in my new library just right, with the bright red throw to keep my legs warm (it’s cold here in Portland this weekend). I carried in a napkin, utensils and the book.

    I then brought in the plate with the foie gras and accoutrements, setting it on the table next to the reading chair and I arranged the lighting. As I returned to the kitchen to get the one last item – a glass of wine, the phone rang – a friend with new year’s wishes and we chatted for 10 or 15 minutes.

    With wine in hand, I returned to the library to find…

    …THE CAT EATING THE FOIE GRAS!!!

    To undertand my shock – greater than it might otherwise be – it is necessary to know that this cat, Ollie by name, eats only dry food and when, on occasion, I’ve meant to give him a treat from my dinner such as a piece of chicken, he has walked away in disdain. He has never shown the slightest interest in human food. He has never once in two and a half years stolen food from the table or counter.

    So, I was struck dumb for a moment.

    He looked over his shoulder at me only briefly and quickly returned to greedily gobbling down the foie gras as if I’d starved him for the past week or two.

    When I shouted, “Ollie”, in a tone meant to scare the living sh** out of him, he all but shrugged. Then, getting the idea that I wasn’t pleased, he grabbed the final slice of foie gras and darted under the bed in the guest room where I couldn’t possibly reach him.

    And then I laughed. What else was there to do. This over-bred cat on which I spent way too much money, who has never exhibited the least interest in my food, developed an instant taste for haute cuisine – to match his fancy lineage, I suppose. Next thing he’ll be asking for Norwegian smoked salmon or delicately roasted quail.

    Fortunately, there was plenty more of the foie gras. I prepared another plate for myself and snuck into the library with it when he wasn’t looking, closing the French doors behind me.

    I wished than that I knew how to say the F word in cat language, but I think he got the point when he couldn’t get into the library, but he could certainly smell the foie gras I WAS EATING.

    So we both had a delicious meal of the extravagant gift you brought when you visited and I’m sure if he could speak English (or French), Ollie would thank you too.

    A very happy new year to you, Claude, from both of us.

  7. claude, thank you so much for sending illuminated (wouldn’t that be what to call your little blog photos that pop up?) new year’s wishes. this is, i believe, what young people mean when they say, “way cool.”

    it was my pleasure to spend time with you in the big apple. i look forward to many more exchanges through the ether and continued admiration for your photography. all good things for you in 2007. yours, naomi

  8. Happy New Year to you, Claude! I would say this is probably my favourite type of holiday, for all the optimism and joy for the future it brings.

    Best wishes to you and Julie!

Leave a Reply

