What lips my lips have kissed

Winter trees

Winter trees

What lips my lips have kissed, and where, and why, I have forgotten, and what arms have lain
Under my head till morning; but the rain
Is full of ghosts tonight, that tap and sigh
Upon the glass and listen for reply,
And in my heart there stirs a quiet pain
For unremembered lads that not again
Will turn to me at midnight with a cry.
Thus in the winter stands the lonely tree,
Nor knows what birds have vanished one by one,
Yet knows it boughs more silent than before:
I cannot say what loves have come and gone,
I only know that summer sang in me
A little while, that in me sings no more.

I am reposting this poem, the first one I ever posted on this blog in June 2004 — also one of my favourite poems– with this photo I took a while ago at Luxembourg gardens in Paris.

7 thoughts on “What lips my lips have kissed

  1. Claude, this is almost my very favorite poem. I am so happy to see that you like it too. I referenced it on Carmi’s site last year, when he posted a photo of rain on the windowpane. Thanks for sharing it with those who may not know of it.

  2. I wasn’t familiar with this poem Claude….it’s really beautiful. And of course your picture….equally as beautiful. I love pictures of trees….and this one is striking with the colors of the sky as its background.

  3. There is a stark but striking beauty in this picture, Claude, jut the type I like. As for the poem, I don’t recall reading it before, but what feelings the words can stir.

Leave a Reply

