Surfing obsession

I read this at
eMusings at chez Goodman yesterday.

The National Safety Council produced this wonderful graph of your odds of dying. Check it out. I plan to live forever or die trying.

From the chart:

Odds of dying from any cause: 1 in 1 (100%)

Heart disease: 1 in 5
Cancer: 1 in 7
Stroke: 1 in 24
Motor Vehicle Accident: 1 in 84
Suicide: 1 in 119
Falling: 1 in 218
Firearm assault: 1 in 314

Fireworks discharge: 1 in 340,733

Cheery, isn’t it?

And you know what? I misread the last item!

Instead of Fireworks discharge: 1 I read Firefox discharge: 1
And almost… had a heart attack! 😆

Should I see a doctor?

Don’t you like Dave’s remark about planning to live forever or die trying?

7 thoughts on “Surfing obsession

  1. What a shame we can’t change that first statistic from 1 in 1 chance.
    But like taxes, death is inevitable. I just plan to go out kicking and screaming….I know I’ll never be ready! Enjoying life too much.

  2. I’m surprised dying in a motor vehicle accident is so much rarer than cancer or heart disease or a stroke! When I read that I immediately scrolled to the bottom of the page and found it was the United States. Ah.

    Because obviously this statistic doesn’t include Toronto!

  3. would be very interesting to have the same statistics about several other areas in the world.

    For instance, Firearm assault: 1 in 314 seems so high to me.
    what would it be in France or any other civilized country?! 😉

  4. I immediate thought of that song lyric: “I’m going to live, live, live, until I die.” That pretty well sums it up for me and I don’t care what the odds are on all those causes — whatever gets me, gets me, whenever it gets me.

Leave a Reply

