New word: kibble

words.jpg

Once more, today’s new word comes from Walt’s blog, Another American in France. I would have paid no attention, since I pretty much understood it was related to dog food, but by the time I visited Ken’s blog Living the life in Saint-Aignan, kibble appeared a second time, and I figured I’d better look it up.
You see, Walt and Ken have a new addition to their home, Callie, a lovely border collie puppy and I’m looking forward to learning lots of new dog words as I read their blogs 😉

As I thought, kibble is dog food. Wikipedia says

Dry pellet dog food, called kibble, is made in two different ways: extruding and baking

What interested me, was an expression I had never heard before, eating one’s own dog food

To say that a company “eats its own dog food” means that it uses the products that it makes. (…) Dogfooding improves software quality

dogfooding! Nothing to do with dog feeding

The English language is so versatile and creative!

11 thoughts on “New word: kibble

  1. Oh how fun! Dogfooding. “Eating one’s own cooking” is slang in the investing world for managers who buy shares in the funds that they manage. This is supposed to be a sign of a more committed manager, presumably a better manager, although I’m not entirely sure that’s true. It could just be that they are more confident in their judgment, whether good or bad. I think it would be fun if the financial folks started saying “dogfooding” for this!

  2. Hmmm, versatile and creative. That’s one way to describe the English language….lol I’m beginning to think it’s very difficult for non-English people. All the variations of words, grammar, tense, slang……
    Loved his Collie puppy and must now go back and visit Ken’s site with more photos.

  3. Yes Claude, the English language does lead us on many merry chases.

    PS: Do you have a favorite in the upcoming French Presidential election?

    I know nothing about her but I like the looks of the “Royal lady”.

  4. My Father in law was a German baker who came to America in 1905. All of his life he would say ,”It’s time to make my duff.” He meant DOUGH. I asked him about his pronunciation and he very patiently explained to me that duff was the proper way to say dough. He said,”T O U G H is tuff. R O U G H is ruff, so that means D O U G H is duff.”

  5. I am always amazed at which words spark curiosity, both for me (in French) and others (in English).

    Kibble = croquettes

    And Callie loves them (thankfully).

  6. @Chancy, I’ll vote agains Sarkozy who is intolerant and doesn’t understand anything about people’s problems. I fear the worst for my country, if he is elected. Therefore, I’ll vote for Ségolène Royal.

  7. Good luck with the elections, Claude! I hope your candidate wins. I knew the word kibble as dogfood, but I didn’t know the other meanings. Live and learn…..LOL

  8. I couldn’t imagine learning English if it weren’t my primary language…it has some of the darndest words. I admire you having a blog in both French & English…also your many interests that you write about.

  9. Kibble (1) : the bucket of a draw well. – Kibble-chain : the chain for drawing up a bucket.

    Kibble(2) : to grind cereal etc fairly coarsely.

    The latter is the usage I know as in “kibbled wheat”.

    Chambers 20th Century Dictionary 1983.

  10. @Septuagent: Another difference between British English and American English?

    My Robert & Collins French English/ English French just doesn’t know the word 😉

  11. American English is a language that moves very fast. “Dogfooding” wasn’t in use when I lived there, but then, neither was software. Personal comuters had not yet become a consumer product, although kibble was.

    We’ll have to agree to disagree about Sarkozy…his experience and intelligence may be more helpful to France than you expect.

Leave a Reply

