Save your blog(s)

At the moment, it may not look like it, but I’m getting ready to leave for Normandy for two weeks.
And this morning, I was in the process of adding a Blogs and Blogging category icon (like the one above) to an old post, that ironically enough, was entitled Saving your blog ;), when wordpress had a burp, or was it a fart. When I saved, half my post was gone 😦
Of course, a second burp occurred and for a few moments, all I got was

Whoops!

There was a small systems error. Please try refreshing the page and if the error is still there drop us a note and let us know.

fatalerror Freaky! Half my post had been eaten and now that! I had to reconstitute more than half of it.
Now, I must say that it’s the first time I have experienced this with WordPress.com, my host since June, and it’s really been fixed very fast.

But I often think that instead of writing on-line, we should write off-line and then put the result on-line. I have been using a wonderful piece of software that I really like and that I find really helpful. It’s mac only, and it’s called Journler and is donationware. I have been using it for about a month, and that’s where I start writing now.
Still, I should follow my own advice and save both my blogs. I will definitely do this tonight.
Are you saving yours?

The cute dog image was made with image chef, which I find pretty useful too.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

12 thoughts on “Save your blog(s)

  1. Blogger now has an autosave feature on its blogs, but sometimes it doesn’t work very well and if I check to see if a link is correct – I’ll lose the whole post every time.

    Sorry you had the problem, Claude. Enjoy Normandy!!

  2. It worried me when people go all technical about blog problems. I have no idea how to save my blog but, fingers crossed, it hasn’t disappeared into cyberspace – yet.
    Enjoy your holiday in Normandy. (Looking forward to the photos).

  3. I took the old-fashioned approach when I decided to give up my housebuilding blog, I printed each and every entry and now have it in a notebook for my posterity. The photos aren’t as good and all the links are static, but it is for me, myself and I anyway.

  4. sigh…always another reason to switch from PC to Mac. am i up to this, she wonders after making her way through the odd group at the mac store in soho. oh, those are folks under 20! they seem to have so much more time than she does. maybe in autumn when they return to school there will be more space.

  5. I write almost everything off line Claude. It does seem to save some headaches doing it that way. We’ve all run into that frustration of losing a post sometime or another.

  6. Sorry about your tech problems.
    I haven’t had a problem with my provider, Squarespace in the 2 years I’ve been with them. So far, so good.
    And Bon Voyage for Normandy…hopefully, you’ll blog a little from there.

  7. For a long time I saved all my blog posts out of Blogger as PDF files. Then I upgraded to the new Blogger version and saving the posts every month as a PDF file was no longer possible. It is possible to save the page source in Firefox or IE, though. That gives you a copy of the text, at least. I have all the photos archived, so I would be able to put those back if worse came to worst.

  8. I adore that dog photo “Fatal Error”

    I used to frequentlyget the notice “you have committed a fatal error and this will be terminated” from Windows and it made me laugh and want to call the undertaker.

Leave a Reply

