Singin’ in the rain

favouritemovies.jpg

You can read this post in French at Absolutely Awesome, where I was invited as a guest poster.

One of my favourite movies ever, Singin’ in the rain, is sure to put me in a great mood if I am feeling down. I remember walking down the Champs-Elysées in 1954, with a girl friend, humming Good morning, good morning,… at a time when it took a couple of years for new movies to cross the Atlantic Ocean.
I’ve owned the cassette and now the DVD and have watched it so many times that I have some of the songs memorised. A great musical in which the plot is woven with the history of cinema. The story takes place at the time when the cinema industry moves from silent movies to talkies.

One of my favourite sequences, is the one in which Debbie Reynolds, Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor dance and sing a stunning trio, tapdancing and whirling around.

Another sequence I love is the Moses supposes scene.

Moses supposes his toeses are Roses,
But Moses supposes Erroneously,
Moses he knowses his toeses aren’t roses,
As Moses supposes his toeses to be!
Moses supposes his toeses are Roses,
But Moses supposes Erroneously,
A mose is a mose!
A rose is a rose!
A toes is a toes!
Hooptie doodie doodle

Gene Kelly is wonderful of course, but my favourite actor in the movie is definitely Donald O’Connor.
Great dancing, great music and great fun altogether!

14 thoughts on “Singin’ in the rain

  1. In my younger days, one was either a Gene Kelly fan or a Fred Astaire fan. I liked Gene Kelly. I still enjoy his movies, and Donald O’Connor and Debbie Reynolds,too.

  2. This is one of the all-time classics ever. I LOVE IT! What great lyrics…now you’ve made me nostalgic for a little musical comedy viewing. Thanks Claude.

  3. Hi Claude,
    It’s Ken and Walt’s friend, Cheryl. Funny, when you mentioned singing “Good morning, good morning” on the Champs-Elysees, the Beatles tune came to mind.

    I do like “Singing in the Rain” a lot. I saw Debbie Reynolds “in concert” a couple of years ago. It was more “in monologue” than “in concert”. She was very energetic and very entertaining!

    I never realized there was a Kelly vs. Astaire division. Guess I missed that by a generation!

    Thanks for the post!
    Cheryl

  4. It’s one of my favs, too, Claude! I remember seeing it in the theater as a child and spending playtime singing “Good mornin'” I have it in my video collection, too! It brings back a gentler time when before film was punctuated profanity and sex and you didn’t have to check the rating before taking your kids.

  5. I love that musical. Did you know that when Gene Kelly was being filmed in the famous dancing in the rain, where he spins around the lamppost and splashes in puddles, that he was running a fever? What a guy!

  6. Thanks for putting up the clips from “Singin’ In The Rain”, one of my favorite movies too.

    The three stars were great but my favorite is Gene Kelly – loved his dancing, his singin” and his looks.

    I never went for Clark Gables,Tyrone Powers or Robert Taylors looks – Give me Gene Kelly anytime. 😉

  7. Ah, who couldn’t love Gene Kelly.
    And those old movies….they were THEE best! Nothing today compares to those. Thanks for reminding us of another great classic.

  8. Oh Claude, I’m a major Donald O’Connor fan! Have you seen him in There’s No Business Like Show Business? I could watch that scene with the fountain and the live statues a thousand times. He is so inspiring somehow, I don’t know quite what it is.

    Also love that moses supposes song since my best friend put it on a tape for me once. now I won’t get it out of my head I’m sure.

  9. On a rainy Sunday recently, this movie turned up on television and I had a wonderful time watching it again for the first time in decades. An all time beautiful, classic movie.

    If I may boast for a moment, many years ago, I had the thrill of dancing on television for a few minutes with Donald O’Connor. You know, the old-fashioned kind of dancing that no one does anymore. And let me tell you, any woman can look like a great dancer when the guy leading is expert. For those few moments, I felt like Rita Hayworth or Debbie Reynolds or any of those terrific movie musical dancers of long ago.

  10. A great movie. “Make ’em Laugh” has got to be one of the championship sequences of all time. And who doesn’t think of Gene Kelly when they’re caught in the rain? And Jean Hagen’s voice: “I cahn’t stan’im.” And “Yes, yes, yes!” “No, no, no!” And on and on…

Leave a Reply

