Fragonard at Musée Jacquemart-André

pariswanderings.jpg

A visit to Musée Jacquemart-André is always a treat.

poster

A treat because it’s such a beautiful museum, located Boulevard Haussmann. It hosts incredible collections all gathered by patrons of the arts, Edouard André and his wife, Nélie Jacquemart, and a treat, because the museum restaurant offers scrumptious plates and tasty pastries in an incredible setting!

Musée Jacquemart-André restaurant

At the moment, it hosts paintings and drawings by Fragonard. I enjoyed the exhibition, although I must admit drawings and etchings are more difficult for me to appreciate than paintings.

Musée Jacquemart-André

Of course, no photographs are allowed in the rooms dedicated to Fragonard, but I took some photos on the way to the exhibition like this gorgeous Tiepolo fresco.

I had a salade au foie gras, decorated with grapes, raspberries, which did not only taste great but also looked wonderfully autumnal.

Autumn colours

When we got out, as it was a lovely day, I walked back home, along avenue Montaigne, spotting old fashion designer plates on the pavement, like Jeanne Paquin’s

PAQUIN

and walking past the Eiffel Tower to finally get home.

Eiffel Tower

Quite a long enjoyable walk.

13 thoughts on “Fragonard at Musée Jacquemart-André

  1. “Walking past the Eiffel Tower to finally get home.”

    Ah, what a life. 🙂

    And I agree, that Paquin plate is terrific. How many are there ? I don’t think I’ve ever seen them before.

  2. @ Walt, I only took a photo of two last Monday, but I know there are more that I should go and photograph. Every time I’ve seen them, was at night and I don’t about taking photos with my flash. I’ll have to go for more 😉
    @ Toli, I certainly recommend it. They serve lunch from 12 to 3 p.m. and tea with those delicious pastries that I forgot to take a photo of! I had fig pie.

  3. I am visiting Leo and Chan in Evreux next week but one – I think my blokes and I shall do your lovely walk, and maybe the Museum too. Fingers crossed for good weather! Great blog! Best wishes, Lois N

  4. What a magnificent place! Your photos are wonderful….
    As a side comment, I’m wondering if you’ve seen the movie “Avenue Montaigne”? This past weekend I found it at our local branch library and I confess to the “guilty pleasure” of watching it twice. It was delightful. When you write of walking in that area, I can “see” it in my mind’s eye, thanks to the movie. As others have commented, I so enjoy the fruit of your flaneuring about Paris. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

