Jardin des Tuileries in winter

journal.jpg

In the course of my recent stay in hospital, I was advised to go for longer walks to get my daily dose of exercise 😉 and, three times a week, to add a 20 minutes fast-walking period in the course of those walks.

So far so good. In fact, I find that it stimulates me and it’s been relatively easy to comply for the last week or so, because it hasn’t been raining at all.

Last Wednesday, I crossed Jardin des Tuileries which extends from Place de la Concorde to Le Louvre. I found it amazing that this is what it looked like at 12:01 pm

Jardin des Tuileries (by Claudecf)

Empty and misty

and exactly 5 minutes later not exactly from the same vantage point, but pretty close,

Jardin des Tuileries (by Claudecf)

Crowds rushing towards Le Louvre or Place de la Concorde

Probably rushing to lunch!
The only thing that I find difficult in my new programme, is to find room to blog, as I keep one blog in English and one blog in French, and even more difficult to come and visit you on your blogs.

So please forgive me, and give me some time to get more organised! 🙂

21 thoughts on “Jardin des Tuileries in winter

  1. Your exercise is more important! I remember taking that same walk in your photos, but there were many people around the whole time I was in Paris. I never saw an empty vista!

  2. Isn’t it nice to have dry weather for a while? Even if it is cold, it is much more pleasant to be outside. Keep walking. Keep walking. Keep walking. Want to borrow Callie for a while? She’s a great excuse for taking another walk.

  3. I’m sorry you’ve had a hospital stay, Claude, but hope things are on the mend. It always seemed that you got lots of walking around but maybe it needs to be a set routine.
    I, too, have been lax in visiting my blogging friends but have tried to keep up an entry at least once a week. Nice to visit you again.

  4. Yes, I have to agree….walking first for your health. Then blogging.
    Great photos and amazing how it was totally empty and then the crowds came.
    I’m beginning to get excited now about my return to Paris….in the process of completing details. Paris apt. and lodging in Brittany is all booked. Waiting to hear on a great little place in Arromanches.
    Looking forward to seeing you in 2 1/2 short months!

  5. Your blog is already rich with photos, ideas, music to listen to, accounts of past trips, visits to museums…Don’t worry about it. Whenever we click, we’re entertained.

    Keep going soldier…one, two…one, two…faster, faster. faster…

    With a wink, and a smile. Take care. We love you!

  6. Walking back to happiness – no that should be Walking back to ‘healthiness’ but I don’t have the voice to sing it to you.

    Maybe you should change your name to Felix?

  7. I agree with everyone else. Sorry to hear you’ve been ill but your first priority is to keep fit and healthy. If there’s any time left for you to share your walks with us that’s great but don’t worry if you can’t visit other bloggers for a while.

  8. And the non-blogger agrees too! I’m so glad to hear you’re walking. I’m sure you can hear all of these voices cheering you on whenever you feel like slowing down…but hey it’s OK to slow down to take pictures from time to time! 🙂
    My trip is booked arriving in Paris on May 28, I’m staying for 5 nights at Hotel Marignan before going on to Angouleme and then a rather vague itinerary ending up in England, before flying home from Paris at the end of June. Would you by any chance be in Paris then and able to meet for coffee or lunch? I would love to meet you. Blessings, Sara 🙂

  9. Good for you, doing all that walking. My impression of you has always been that YOU ARE A Walker. With all the photos you take, you are on your feet a lot.

    That’s my big weakness, I don’t walk a lot . What I do do when I am looking to park the car at a mall, I’ll park a distance from the store unless of course if it’s not raining! 😉

  10. I seem to remember a wondeful trek across nighttime Paris with you, Claude. You handled those long Parisian blocks just fine. Health and happiness to you!

  11. The priority is always your health Claude. You must do what you have to do. I’m not very good about getting the exercise I should either…I really have to work on it. I guess I’m just lazy; but it’s becoming more and more important to move around for many reasons. Take care sweetie…

  12. I’m glad you are on the mend and doing your best to stay that way. I hate to walk and am remiss in doing so. I used to walk every morning, but one excuse after another broke my habit, I’m ashamed to say.

    I did take the walk you showed in your photos about 18 years ago. I had spent the morning touring the Louvre, was tired and sat down on a bench to rest. A gentleman sat next to me and struck up a conversation in French. My understanding of your language consisted of a few phrases tourists learn. I told him I did not speak French, in what I am sure, was a very bad accent and he sighed and left.

Leave a Reply

