My Weekly Flick: Rhapsody in blue

Filming or photographing the Eiffel Tower at night is always a problem because of light pollution. There’s always a street light of some kind in the way. Not to mention the noise. I could have covered it with some music, but this is the real thing, last Tuesday, seen from Avenue Montaigne, near Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, during the intermission.

Eiffel in blue, noise and all!

If you wonder why it’s blue, here’s the reason
More photos taken that evening here. I went there to listen to Armide by Jean-Baptiste Lully, performed by William Christie and Les Arts Florissants. Just beautiful!

For better viewing, let the clip load completely before watching

7 thoughts on “My Weekly Flick: Rhapsody in blue

  1. When we were there a few years ago for my husband’s birthday, the tower was red with sparkles for Chinese New Year. Almost two years ago when we met, the apartment we stayed in had a beautiful view of the tower and the hourly evening light show. I know that not every Parisian likes the lights and I am not a resident, but I love them! Thanks for this.

  2. I have heard that Eiffel lighting system will be changed according to environmental concerns. New bulbs will be used which are 50% less consumming or something like that…
    The end of city of lights?!… 😉

  3. wonderful! where is the circle of yellow stars? around the platform not quite halfway up? or at the top? or both places? now i’m going to find out whether i can install this on my desktop, twinkles and all. probly not, but it’s one of my favorite sights ever….

    merci!

Leave a Reply

