Excuses, excuses…

I must shamefully admit to reading less and less lately.
I used to be such a voracious reader, and now, I have to force myself to even read an article in the newspaper.
I don’t read blogs very much either. I guess I have just become reading-lazy!
For Christmas, I was offered a bunch of books that were on my Amazon WishList. Therefore books that I had noticed and marked and was interested in. I haven’t even read the first of the murder mysteries I was interested in. Pure sloth on my part.
On my list was also World Without End.
Now if you’ve read The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett, a huge and heavy but fascinating book, this is a sequel.

World Without End!

World Without End

Mind you, I haven’t read it yet and am wondering if I ever will!
As Nonie Vogue, one of my flickr contacts put it

A book that size has no beginning as far as I’m concerned. I would never start to read one that size

The book has and weighs 632g! That’s over a pound!

Another book I had added to my list was Elizabeth George’s Careless in Red, has humongous typesetting and weighs over a kilo. I have been an Elizabeth George fan for years, but honestly, I can’t even lift the thing.
I haven’t opened either of the books and wonder if I ever will.
Maybe I would if I had some sort of a lectern like the ones they have in churches to support the Holy Bible, or prayer books

Saint-Hymer church

Lectern in Saint Hymer church

Well, meanwhile, I just can’t see myself schlepping those books to read during a train or plane trip. So I guess they’ll have to remain on my bookshelf until I get either stronger, or more motivated!

23 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses…

  1. I am like you, but I think I will pick it up again. For me its simply being so busy, that I rarely get to read anymore. I wish I could and I would gladly start a book that size, but I always have something else to do.

  2. I bought World Without End also, since I’ve read Pillars of the Earth twice…but I haven’t read it yet! I do read books but they are shorter mysteries mostly which are sometimes more entertaining than TV…

  3. Nothing’s compulsory. Life, as they say, is too short and far too many novels too long nowadays (I blame American “creative writing” courses). But it’s hard when you’re brought up to read the whole thing if you’ve bought it (whatever it is, newspaper, magazine, book): we need to practise losing the guilt!

  4. Actually I just started World Without End. The trade paperback is even heavier! In the first 100 pages not much has happened, but I think it will be as interesting as Pillars of the Earth eventually. This one is about building a bridge in 13th century England. Since I’ve always wondered how they managed to build bridges centuries ago, I think I’ll learn something from it. I did like Pillars very much.

  5. @myphotoscout I am busy elsewhere but I could easily take the time if I felt like it!
    @Autolycus, yes, I have been brought up to finish what I started. So now I just don’t start 😉
    @Hattie, never thought of it. Somehow I like the idea of real books and turning the pages…
    @Gigi, I just loved Pillars of the Earth. I am sure World without End is good, as I said in the title, it’s just excuses, because I have not been feeling like reading anything recently!

  6. Buy a Kindle -or something similar and you don’t have to carry much weight around. Or do what I do; read the heavy books lying down in bed, while the book is supported by your belly.

  7. So what are you doing? I couldn’t imagine not reading anything. Even just the newspaper every morning or an email every now and then…

  8. Maybe you should consider “talking books”, books recorded on tape or disc. There is now a huge selection available, not just fiction but non-fiction as well. Then you can “read” while doing the housework, having lunch or simply relaxing with your eyes closed.

    I had many conversations with Tigger’s father about the books he had “read” in this way. His sight was too bad for him to read but he had a broad range of interests and we discussed everything from Saint-Exupéry to Stephen Hawking.

    A good reader can bring the text alive and perhaps bring out things you might miss yourself.

  9. I LOVED “Pillars of the Earth” but I read it a very long time ago. I wonder if I’d have to re-read it in order to appreciate “World Without End.”

    I’ll tell you, though, I was VERY glad I read “Pillars” before we went to Salisbury Cathedral.

  10. Have you had your eyes checked? I was off reading but now that I have had cataract surgery, I enjoy it once again.

    On the other hand, just because we have always enjoyed something – reading, cooking, photography, sewing – doesn’t mean that we had to JUST LOVE IT FOREVER!! There are so many wonderful things to do in life…

  11. Yes, I think the reason I read omniverously is that I am nearsighted, or short-sighted as you probably say. So looking at things close up is no problem. I just take off my glasses. Also, my computer monitor is a large LCD and I have a pair of glasses that focus in the mid-range to give me comfortable viewing.
    I do think comfortable strain-free viewing is important for reading enjoyment.

  12. Oh, read it. I’m about halfway through it and love every word. And it’s a fast read, too. It’s every bit as good as Pillars.

    Ocean

  13. reluctant to add another comment because you might feel “i should respond,” but NO, not necessary.

    just wanted to add that i was doing very little reading for some time. then began again always trying to find paperbacks (lighter to carry) of ones that interested me. for me, it’s about (ready?) aging. yes, already have so much info coming in plus all the memories plus the day-to-day.

    you’ve given us quite a present with your presence online. perhaps blog readers need to start a new thing of reading archives at our favorite blogs. hmm…i often get new ideas by writing you, claud.

  14. Claude, Maybe you just need a different sort of book to read. Something not so long and serious and heavy. Have you read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society” I enjoyed this book. It is a change of pace from Elizabeth George mysteries and “World Without End” type books.

    ” A poignant, funny novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit…. This one is a treat.”—Boston Globe”

  15. Pingback: The Reader « Blogging in Paris

Leave a Reply

